Saturday 25 March 2017

All posts in Journalism 2007

How safe are we?

Published as ‘Fears surrendering our freedoms’, Geelong Advertiser, Saturday, 5 May 2007, p. 33 Watch television, read the news or listen to the shock jocks on the radio and you could be forgiven for thinking we are living in the …

Continue Reading...

Labo(u)r and its leaders: Britain and Australia

Published as 'UK paves way', Geelong Advertiser, Monday, 23 April 2007, p. 17 Tony Blair is coming to the end of his period as leader of the Labour Party

Good days and bad days in the world game

Published as 'Crowd antics not manufactured', Geelong Advertiser, Saturday, 7 April 2007, p. 35 We saw both sides of the world game this week. St Kilda president Rod Butters talked

Solitaire man: The games people play

Geelong Advertiser, Monday,26 March 2007, p. 17 Do people play card games at home any more? It is not so very long ago that card nights were a highly

Life kicks on in rural Victoria

Geelong Advertiser, Monday,12 March 2007, p. 15 In the last few years parts of rural Victoria have had to cope with drought, bush fires and floods, sometimes in quick

Boom or bust

Geelong Advertiser, Saturday, 3 March 2007, p. 13 The Australian stockmarket took a dive earlier this week. A needed correction or the end of the most recent long boom?

Timely caution

Geelong Advertiser, Thursday, 22 February 2007, p. 19 I know how those people in Britain felt in 1752 when the United Kingdom and its empire finally adopted the Gregorian

The rise and fall of the coal economy

Published as Coal hard facts, Geelong Advertiser, Monday, 12 February 2007, p. 15. What should be do about coal? For the last 300 years coal has been the critical

It’s time to smarten things up

Geelong Advertiser, Saturday 3 February 2007, p. 31. Education looks like it will be one of the big issues at the next election, with both major parties awakening to

‘Break Point’

Geelong Advertiser, Wednesday 17 January 2007, p. 21. On Monday there was trouble at the tennis with young men in Croatian and Serbian tops abusing

Website design by Getpixel